3/24 Napier Close, Deakin ACT 2600

P 02 6281 0680
F 02 6285 4676

Outstanding regional and rural leadership


Foundation honours outgoing Chair

Foundation honours outgoing Chair

The Australian Rural Leadership Foundation (ARLF) farewelled outgoing Chair, Dr Wendy Craik in Canberra on Thursday 3 March 2016. She was presented with an Honorary Fellowship recognising her outstanding service to the Foundation. A range of ARLF alumni; staff; past CEO Dr Lesley Fitzpatrick and a range of directors past and present, gathered together to farewell Wendy.

Wendy was appointed Chair of the Foundation in 2010, and over the past six years she oversaw a period of growth in program offerings, partnerships and curriculum development. She will be taking on a new challenge in her role as head of the Climate Change Authority, which she said her time at the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation has stood her in good stead for.

“I cannot overstate how fulfilling my time as Chair of the Foundation has been,” Wendy said.

“The Foundation’s work truly is for the ‘greater good’, and I have been privileged to see first- hand the positive impact of investing in human capacity, and the wonderful achievements of Foundation alumni across all facets of regional Australia,” she said.

“I’d like to thank all of those Directors and staff that I have been fortunate enough to work with over my years with the Foundation.”

Wendy was the first woman to hold the positions of executive officer of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority, the Murray Darling Basin Commission and the National Farmers’ Federation. She also worked as a Productivity Commissioner.

ARLF Chief Executive Officer, Matt Linnegar, said Wendy’s guidance steered a crucial period of evolution.

“Wendy’s expertise and strong connections with regional Australia has enabled the Foundation to seize new opportunities and to expand, while remaining true to our values. An Honorary Fellowship is a fitting way to recognise Wendy and ensure she remains part of the ARLF network.”

The Foundation's new Chair, Mike Carroll, was officially appointed on Friday 4 March 2016.


Comments (0)

Add a comment